Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Avivagen is a publicly listed biotechnology company trading on the TSX Venture Exchange under the ticker “VIV”. The company has two R&D operations located in the Industrial Partnership Facilities at the National Research Council of Canada (NRC) in Ottawa (Chemistry), and in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island (Nutriscience). Avivagen is headquartered in Ottawa, Canada and was established August 4th, 2005.

Jeffrey Kraws, Chairman

Chief Executive Officer and Co-Founder, Crystal Research Associates LLC

Mr. Kraws ranks in the top ten analysts for pharmaceutical stock performance in the world, and Starmine and Zacks have both ranked him as number one stock picker for pharmaceuticals. His experience includes Senior Pharmeceutical Analyst at Evern Securities, Asea Brown Boveri, Nationsbanc Montgomery Securities, BT Alex Brown & Sons and The Buckingham Research Group Incorporated.

He holds an MBA from Cornell University and a B.S. degree from State University of New York-Buffalo.

Aubrey Dan

Aubrey Dan, Director

Mr. Aubrey Dan is a Canadian businessman, philanthropist and Tony-Award® winning producer (MEMPHIS) as well as the Principal of the Dancap Family Investment Office (

Mr. Dan joined Novopharm Ltd. following his graduation from Western University in the role of Sales Representative, progressing to the position of Director of Sales. He later served as President of Wampole Canada Inc., a Novopharm subsidiary, until the acquisition of Novopharm by Teva Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd. (NYSE:TEVA | TASE:TEVA) in 2000.

Paul Mesburis

Paul Mesburis, Director

Mr. Paul Mesburis is the Managing Principal of Empyrean Capital, and has more than twenty years of international experience in financial and capital markets. On the buy-side, he has managed portfolios for global investment strategies in both debt and equities. On the sell-side, his experience includes senior roles in mergers and acquisitions, investment banking, and institutional equity research at HSBC Securities, Scotiabank Global Banking and Markets and Deutsche Bank Securities. In 2012, he was honoured with a Canadian Lipper Fund Award which recognizes funds that have excelled in delivering consistently strong risk-adjusted performance, relative to their peers.

David Hankinson, Vice Chairman of the Board

Former President and CEO of Solvay Pharma Inc.

Co-founded a pharmaceutical distribution operation as VP of Kingswood Canada Inc.

Prior work experience includes 15 years in various positions at Eli Lilly

Graham Burton PhD, Chief Scientific Officer

Co-founded Avivagen after 19 years of work in the biomedical field at the National Research Council of Canada (NRC).

At NRC developed the foundation for Avivagen’s oxidized β-carotene technology. Internationally known as a leading scientist in vitamin E research.